The Young Researchers' Forum on Detonation: From Fundamentals to Applications

This is a forum for early-career researchers across the globe to exchange ideas and promote potential collaborations in the fundamental study and propulsion-related applications of detonations. We hope that this forum will be a platform for all of the young detonation researchers to keep in touch and make connections with their peers.  

Next talk: Season 3, Episode 2

S3E2: The effects of liquid fuel combustion on the propagation of a detonation wave

Recent research towards using liquid fuel in rotating detonation engines (RDE) has been assessed using Eulerian-Lagrangian (EL) reactive simulations of a representative three-dimensional (3D) configuration in order to understand the interactions of a detonation wave with liquid fuel droplets.  To model the non-homogeneity of combustion, discrete injectors for gaseous hydrogen fuel are used, and the liquid spray is injected along with the air from a continuous plenum. In this study the hydrogen injection rate is reduced to a condition at which the detonation wave is unable to sustain. The results show that the injection of the kerosene spray helps sustain the detonation wave leading the system transitions from a pure gaseous detonation to a hydrogen-driven kerosene-sustained detonation. At a global equivalence ratio of 0.5, the combustion processes show unstable burning with localized extinction and re-ignition followed by system failure. The results demonstrate that the existence of the detonation aids in the evaporation of the injected droplets behind it, allowing the vaporized mixture to properly mix before the next detonation cycle such that continuous (cyclic and stable) propagation can be achieved. The simulations enabled us to understand a) the mechanism of the detonation establishment in presence of spray, b) the detonation structure during self-sustained propagation, and c) the effects of fuel vaporization and dispersion.

Date   Time   Time zone
February 2nd (Thursday), 2023   4:00 pm Eastern
3:00 pm Central
1:00 pm Pacific
10:00 pm Paris (GMT+1)
February 3rd (Friday), 2023   5:00 am Beijing

Link: stanford.zoom.us/j/92771914083

You must display your full name to be admitted.

Picture of speaker
Institute logo
Institute logo

Dr. Marc Salvadori


Ph.D.: Georgia Institute of Technology
Current: HyperComp Inc.

Marc Salvadori received his Ph.D. degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta (USA), in May 2022, under the supervision of Prof. Suresh Menon. Since June 2022, Dr. Salvadori is a Member of Technical Staff at HyperComp Inc. of Westlake Village, CA, where he concentrates on the application and development of high-fidelity computational fluid dynamics software suites and provides technical support. His research interests focus on large-eddy simulations (LES) of turbulence combustion, single/multiphase combustion, rocket propulsion, and gaseous or two-phase detonation in rotating detonation engines (RDEs).

Click here to see previous talks for season 1 and 2.